Spinal Degeneration Phases

Dr. Gil Center for Back, Neck, and Chronic Pain Relief


Degeneration Phase 1

Within the first stage of spinal degeneration, the person does not generally feel much pain. If you have the condition treated at this point, the process can often be undone. You want to receive chiropractic care right away before the stages of the condition become impossible to undo. During this stage, the spinal curvature and spine balance is reduced from normal. In addition, the discs, joints and nerves experience stress and age faster than normal.


Degeneration Phase 2

By the second stage of spinal degeneration, you are likely to experience pain, aches, stress and fatigue. Nonetheless, there is still the chance to improve the condition within this stage with chiropractic care, and this is the last stage when real improvement is possible. Therefore, it’s important to receive chiropractic care right away. This stage is characterized by the discs narrowing, the bones deforming and the posture degenerating.


Degeneration Phase 3

During spinal degeneration’s third stage, you will probably experience a loss of energy and your height would reduce by this point. Because there are a lot of issues at this stage, you will experience more physical and mental involvement. At this stage, it is possible for chiropractic care to reduce some of the effects. This stage includes nerve damage and the bones and discs are deforming.


Degeneration Phase 4

If you’ve reached the fourth stage of spinal degeneration, it means that the condition is irreversible. Most of the damage that has occurred during the other stages is now permanent. You have irreparable nerve damage, scar tissue and deformation. At this point, we can offer pain management and treatments to increase your comfort levels. If you have not yet reached this point, be sure to start treatment right away to prevent the condition’s effects from continuing.